Access Problems

Technology support & advice, including avatar requests
User avatar
trevor1973
Registered user
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Ireland

Access Problems

Post by trevor1973 »

Is this going to be fixed ..same problem for me. Can’t access it only through a VPN


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
'Before you abuse, criticise or accuse walk a mile in my shoes'

Elvis 1970

User avatar
trevor1973
Registered user
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Access Problems

Post by trevor1973 »

This is how I got OPEN DNS on my iPad and got the forum working back again through that

https://support.opendns.com/hc/en-us/ar ... or-OpenDNS


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
'Before you abuse, criticise or accuse walk a mile in my shoes'

Elvis 1970

User avatar
m4rkb
Registered user
Posts: 11313
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:35 pm
Location: Ape City

Re: Access Problems

Post by m4rkb »

trevor1973 wrote:This is how I got OPEN DNS on my iPad and got the forum working back again through that

https://support.opendns.com/hc/en-us/ar ... or-OpenDNS


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


It seems to be a very similar process on Android devices too but I found I needed to root the phone before it would allow changes to the DNS settings, so for the moment it didn't get done.

The bad news is this is nothing the forum owners or mods can fix , it's an end user problem we have to sort ourselves.

User avatar
Basualdo
Winner - POTY 2011!!!!
Posts: 15806
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 12:31 am
Location: Selling some halogen lamps.

Re: Access Problems

Post by Basualdo »

Yeah. Take some responsibility for yourselves for once, ya pussies.
Proud Gammon

RIP Neil Peart 1952-2020.

User avatar
m4rkb
Registered user
Posts: 11313
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:35 pm
Location: Ape City

Re: Access Problems

Post by m4rkb »

Or go back to calling ourselves Talkforum.net perhaps and get a new IP address?

User avatar
kevin04
Registered user
Posts: 5640
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Thall 's a-bhos.

Re: Access Problems

Post by kevin04 »

Cheers Mark again, I'll have a look but no idea if it'll work since I will be using data roaming aka no network.
Bellend. Rupert Bell fanclub - MEMBER.

User avatar
delboy1983
Registered user
Posts: 13413
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:59 pm

Re: Access Problems

Post by delboy1983 »

ERROR

Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached.



Que !!!
We're just two lost souls
Swimming in a fish bowl
Year after year

User avatar
Zambo
Registered user
Posts: 14707
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:18 am

Re: Access Problems

Post by Zambo »

delboy1983 wrote:ERROR

Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached.



Que !!!

It's when the forum gets pissed off with the level of bickering and shuts down for a short period.
Don't always believe what you think, because sometimes its' a load of shite
Antoninus - Are you afraid to die Spartacus?
Spartacus - No more than I was to be born.

User avatar
Eaststand
Registered user
Posts: 16517
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 2:36 pm
Location: having a smoochy smooch

Re: Access Problems

Post by Eaststand »

Aww, Dereks barely said anything today!
just blandly gargling cum over here.

User avatar
delboy1983
Registered user
Posts: 13413
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:59 pm

Re: Access Problems

Post by delboy1983 »

["Eaststand"]Aww, Dereks barely said anything today!
Note for mods :P
We're just two lost souls
Swimming in a fish bowl
Year after year

User avatar
kevin04
Registered user
Posts: 5640
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Thall 's a-bhos.

Re: Access Problems

Post by kevin04 »

Very odd.

Are chrome censoring this website? It works ok on Firefox on my lappy and now downloaded Firefox for the mobile and works well.
Bellend. Rupert Bell fanclub - MEMBER.

User avatar
Basualdo
Winner - POTY 2011!!!!
Posts: 15806
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 12:31 am
Location: Selling some halogen lamps.

Re: Access Problems

Post by Basualdo »

Works okay on Chrome for me, so the Google censorship hadn't reached here at least. I doubt they'd want to silence Hillman anyway.
Proud Gammon

RIP Neil Peart 1952-2020.

User avatar
Vespa
Registered user
Posts: 8823
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 8:37 am

Re: Access Problems

Post by Vespa »

I had this problem with Google's DNS

User avatar
m4rkb
Registered user
Posts: 11313
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:35 pm
Location: Ape City

Re: Access Problems

Post by m4rkb »

As far as I can tell quite a lot of mobile devices have their primary DNS set to 8.8.8.8 and the secondary one set to 8.8.4.4 which are both owned by Google and they still deliver a working website. But this then goes tits up going through my routers wifi.

It's all very strange stuff as my mobile is with the same provider as my home and office broadband and works OK until I go through one of the routers.

From what I can tell changing DNS server settings on a PC over rides the internal setting on the router and works only on PC through my hardwired ethernet cable. As soon as any wifi gets involved it all crashes.

It is possible to change the internal settings but they are locked on my router and I need login details to a third party DNS provider to do it.

At lesst the one consolation is we half have an answer in that it's a DNS resolution problem, not the forum owners fault and most important of all TF has not been shut down.

User avatar
mark
Forum Admin
Posts: 2550
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: Access Problems

Post by mark »

m4rkb wrote:not the forum owners fault.
I will remember that and store for future use 8)

Post Reply